City of Ava Government

Current Mayor ~ Burlley Loftin

The City of Ava has a Mayor/Board of Aldermen form of government. The Mayor is the chief executive officer of the city and presides over the board of aldermen. The City of Ava Board of Aldermen consists of four persons; two from each ward of the city. The mission of the Board is to set general and specific municipal policy, pass ordinances and resolutions, appropriate funds, review and monitor municipal administration, prescribe and adopt the city’s budgets, establish water and refuse collection rates and other general tax and service rates, adopt a zoning plan for the city, and fulfill a variety of other duties as defined by State statute.

City Council meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at 127 S.W. 2nd Avenue in the Council Chambers of City Hall. The public is welcomed and encouraged to attend. City ordinance information is available on our website at

City of Ava Police Department

Current Police Chief ~ Reggie Johnson

The Police Department has dispatchers and officers available 24 hours each day, to answer calls and respond to emergencies, handling police, fire, and ambulance. All police vehicles are equipped with up-to date radios capable of communicating with our own dispatch center and the dispatch center of the local sheriff’s office.

Douglas County Government

Ava is the county seat of Douglas County. The county’s government is a system of commissioners with the presiding commissioner controlling the county government, with the assistance of an eastern area and western area commissioner. The county also has elected officials such as: County Assessor, County Clerk, and County Recorder. Douglas County has a Sheriff and five Deputies. County Commissioner Phone: (417) 683-6080

Douglas County Sheriff Department

Current Sheriff ~ Chris Degase

The Sheriff Department is staffed by a Sheriff along with five full time Deputies, one part time Deputy, three full time dispatchers, two part time dispatchers and two part time jailers. Phone: (417) 683-1020

Fire Departments

If you live in a rural area outside the city limits of Ava, you will need to contact your local fire department. These fire departments require annual membership dues to operate and protect your home in an emergency. To find the department that services your property, please call the Douglas County Emergency Management Association at (417) 683-3315.

Ava City                                                   417-683-2931
Ava Rural                                               417-683-1020
Eastern Douglas County               417-683-1020
Western Douglas County             417-683-1020

Bill Martin Memorial Airport

The Airport is located just a couple of miles west of the city. The 3600 foot paved runway is well situated to provide a spectacular view for landings and takeoffs. This runway was resurfaced in 2007.

United States Post Office Locations

Ava                     417-683-4412
Rockbridge    417-679-3619
Squires             417-683-5959
Wasola             417-265-3543